First week on the job: Off to a conference

September 6, 2010 § Leave a comment

I am writing this post on the bus, courtesy of the mobile broadband wonderfulness that is Sweden.

It is one of the pleasures of academic life that things are quite flexible, outside of term time.  Since all of my previous salaried jobs pretty much involved showing up every morning and working in teams of people all day, it is somewhat of a novel experience to more or less go on as I had before, reading, writing, and doing stuff mostly at home.  Still, it feels strange to be heading out to a conference when I’ve really only just arrived at Leicester, so to speak.

The conference is called Paying Attention: Digital Media Cultures and Generational Responsibility. I don’t know much about the generational responsibility aspect but I will be talking about the paying and the attention part.  I have been working recently on how to understand the trade in traffic between search engines and other large websites, such as social media networks and even large retailers.  So I am going to present some of that work.  It’s also the subject of a paper I’m going to publish as a book chapter, so you will see it here and on the publications page in a more finished form.

I’m at the conference until Friday, so I will be writing it up as we go.   When I say we, I mean I and my lone reader, wherever you are.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading First week on the job: Off to a conference at Doctor of Digital.

meta

